DOWNES Crediton Seniors trophy presentation took place on Monday, January 15.

The Senior Section at Downes Crediton Golf Club is a thriving and active one.

It comprises those aged 55 plus years and this group of golfers make up more than 40 per cent of the club membership.

Seniors’ day at Downes Crediton is Monday, when competitions are played, with the first tee reserved from around 8am up until 12 noon, depending on the number of entries.

Medal competitions take place from April to October.

Seniors may, of course, enter all other club competitions, should they wish to do so.

In regard to the club, a Seniors team plays friendly matches, both home and away, against some 15 other clubs.

Everyone is eligible to play in the team.

In addition to excellent golf, the senior section has a splendid social side.

There is a roll-up every Wednesday and Friday, which is organised within the group and starts at 10am, when the draw for partners is made.

The seniors enjoy almost unrestricted access to the course for their roll-ups on these two days but clearly give way to society bookings or golfers paying green fees.

A pre-season dinner is included in the calendar to welcome in both the new golfing year and also new members, with a more formal dinner at the end of the season when competition prizes are presented.

Seniors captain, Jim Dunlop, presented the awards and congratulated all the medal and trophy winners.

He also paid tribute to the green staff for producing perfect conditions for play throughout the year.

During the course of 2023 the club opened a new golf Swing Studio which is available to all golfers.  Bookings for the Swing Studio must be made via the Club Professional Golf Shop.

Golfer of the Year was Graham Pateman.

Medal winners for the year were: April - Div One - Robin Abrahams, Div Two - Andrew Rogers.

May - Div One - Joe Hull, Div Two - John Cann.

June - Div One - Alwyn Evans, Div Two - Richard Burston.

July - Div One - Chris Bruce, Div Two - Richard Burston.

August - Div One - John Cann, Div Two - Rick Eidam.

September - Div One - Andrew Rogers, Div Two - Mike Charnock.

Alan Quick and Eric Parkes