THE first event of festival week at Downes Crediton Golf Club was the mixed open on Sunday, September 10, which was won by the team of Di Parsons, Stephen Yates, Phillip Beasley and Lyn Playford, with a score of 84 points.

The team of Gary Price, Graeme Amos, Lyn Parry and Liz Guildford also scored 84 points, but lost to a better back nine.

Peter Blinkhorn and Andrew Rogers scored 46 points to claim the top spot in this year’s Seniors Open, played on Monday, September 11.

The pairing of Nigel Ashplant and Chris Theedom also scored 46 points but lost to a better back nine.

Finishing in third place was the pair of Peter Bryan and James Downing who also scored 46 points.

Alan Hatherly scored 39 points to win the mid-week stableford on Tuesday, September 12.

Stacey Ford, Penny Deakin and Judith Ezard scored a nett 60 (10 under) to claim this year’s Ladies Texas Scramble Open played on Wednesday, September 13.

The team of Rebecca Aven, Oki Northwood and Angela Storey scored a nett 61 (nine under) to finish in second place.

The winner of the Nine-Hole Stableford was Jeremy Thornton who scored 23 points.

This year’s three-player Texas Scramble Open, which was played on Thursday, September 14, was won by the team of John Cridland, Pat McDonagh and Gary Miles who scored a superb nett 55 (15 under).

The team of Torron Eeles, Tristan Kershaw and Kevin Gratton scored a nett 56 (14 under) to finish second and the team of Chirs Bruge, James Parfett and Mike Thurston scored a nett 56 (14 under) to finish third due to a better back nine.

Dean Willoughby scored 40 points to take the annual Creedy Cup home on Friday, September 15, with Neil Saunders also scoring 40 points but finishing second due to a better back nine.

In third place was Eddy Williams who scored 39 points.