THE 1st Crediton Scout Postal Service for Crediton, Copplestone and Newton St Cyres has been a great success this year.

Helen Olsson, Beaver Leader and Joint Group Scout Leader said: “We were delighted to raise more than £220 in stamp sales this year and our Beavers, Cubs and Scouts are busy delivering the 540 cards around Crediton, Copplestone and Newton St Cyres in the next couple of days.

“Thanks again to the Crediton Courier, Crediton Congregational Church, CJ Interiors, Age Concern Crediton, Tesco, Morrisons, Quicke’s Farm Shop and Copplestone Farm Shop for hosting postboxes and selling stamps, and to everyone who has posted cards.

“Post bundles were distributed at our ‘Carols Around A Campfire’ on Saturday, December 16.

“It was attended by 80+ of our young members and their families, where we were also joined by a representative from Mid Devon District Scouts to present Chief Scout Awards to some of our members.

“Beavers James Weetman, Zephyr Partridge, William Hallsworth, Zachary Leach and Theo Thompson achieved their Bronze Award, Cub Denmark Waldram-McCabe achieved a Silver Award, and Scouts Kyle Hookway and Agnes Olsson received Gold Awards.

“These are all fantastic achievements, especially a Gold Award which requires a lot of commitment and hard work over four years; participating fully in the Scouting programme, developing skills, demonstrating teamwork and leadership, and completing challenging activities.”