KENNERLEIGH, near Sandford is one of 15 Devon communities which have had the future of their village shops secured by Devon County Council.

The shops, including Kennerleigh Post Office and Stores, are being given annual grants of £5,000 by Devon County Council for the next three years plus free business advice to enable shop owners and managers to revise their business strategies after the removal of support from Post Office Limited (POL).

All 15 faced possible closure after last year's changes to the Post Office network.

The Post Office shops being supported are: Ashwater, Blackawton, Bridgerule, Bridestowe, Cheriton Fitzpaine, Chillaton, Dittisham, Kennerleigh, Lustleigh, Milton Abbot, Newton St Cyres, Plymtree, Postbridge, St Giles on the Heath and Widecombe in the Moor.

For the rest of this story please purchase the Crediton Courier from your nearest outlet.