Another win for Down St Mary church bellringers

By Alan Quick   |   Editorial Manager/Photojournalist   |
Thursday 27th June 2019 9:42 am
The Down St Mary team which won the Shelley Cup in the Devon Association of Bellringer's church bellringing Major Final at Lydford on June 8. ()

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

FOLLOWING-on from the success Down St Mary church bellringing team enjoyed at the Devon Association of Bellringer’s Church bellringing qualifying round at Ashwater, the team then rang at the Association’s Major Final held on June 8 at the church of St Petrock, Lydford.

The competing teams was made-up of the 12 top teams in Devon, six from the North and six from the South of the county.

Bob Robinson, Down St Mary and Morchard Bishop team captain, said: "Having drawn to ring at position 11, the majority of the day was spent listening to the preceding 10 teams.

"When it was eventually our turn we nervously filed into the belfry and rung a peal we were all reasonably pleased with, especially given the occasion."

He continued: "As is tradition we made our way to the local hostelry to quench our thirsts.

"Time soon arrived to make our way back to the church to receive the results.

"Strangely the judges did not appear with the competition secretary as is usual. Seemingly there was a tie for first place.

"Teams that rang in positions three and 11 were required to ring again … a ring-off!

"Unfortunately we did not manage to win the ring-off, but were more than happy to have tied for first place with the previous year’s winning team in the main competition.

Results were: 1 Combeinteignhead 30½ (ring-off 21) – winning the Ross Shield, 2 Down St Mary 30½ (ring-off 23¾) – winning the Shelley Cup, 3 Shaugh Prior 30¾, 4 South Brent 31½, 5 Burrington 37¼, 6 Stoke Gabriel 41.

7 Lamerton 47, 8 Clawton 49, 9 Dunsford 50¼, 10 West Down 51, 11 Sampford Courtenay 57¼, 12 Broadhempston 64¾.

Jack Hine Perpetual Trophy for Top Ringing won by Combeinteignhead 14½.

Judges: James Clarke, Mark Lovell, Victoria Tucker, Andrew Vincent,?Scrutineer: Margaret Down.


To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0