CHERITON Fitzpaine and District Ploughing Association held its 77th annual Ploughing Match and Produce Show at Priorton Barton, Sandford, by kind permission of Mr and Mrs John May and Mrs Gwen May on Sunday, September 17.

It was a wet day and the 50 ploughmen, women and children competing in their chosen classes found it hard going with very sticky conditions.

Despite the weather, the ploughing competitors came from across the South West.

There was the magnificent sight of four pairs of ploughing horses in action on the day alongside the 50-plus on tractors, new and old.

There were some keen first-time entrants in the produce, baking and handicraft competitions, their exhibits displayed in one of the farm barns.

The classes were judged in the morning and results were available to view from late morning onwards. There was a large variety of classes including animal made from fruit and veg, specimen rose, floral arrangements, photo classes, cookery, apples and eggs, runner beans, tomatoes and so many more.

In the children’s classes the competitions included a Keep Britain Tidy poster, edible necklace, flapjacks, party invitation, sock puppet, a crown, potato print, photo classes and longest stinging nettle, to name but a few.  School entries brightened up the barn in which they were displayed.

Outside were root crop classes, hay, corn, field crops and many more.

The ploughing started at 10am, finishing during the afternoon, with individual plots being judged and then scored.

Refreshments were available throughout and many enjoyed meeting up with old friends.

President of Cheriton Fitzpaine and District Ploughing Association is Mr C Norman with Vice-Presidents, Messrs P Stoyle, R May, D Brinicombe, J May, J Crooke and Mrs G May.

Chairman is Mr J Lee with Mr P Stoyle, vice-chairman.  Treasurer is Mrs H Lee and Secretary is Mrs J Davie.


The 2023 trophy winners were: Overall ploughing Champion - Martin Kerswell (Horses), Reversible Class - P Pincombe, Best kept Tractor - Martyn Smale, Vintage Classes winner - P Stone.  Most points in show - Hazel Cheriton, Girl Young farmer most points - Katie Davie, Boy Young Farmer most points - Rowan Treneman.

Most points in field roots - Reg Ayre, Best field in local leys - I Tapp, Best exhibit in Veg/Flowers - A Bickley (Six Runner Beans), Most points in produce classes - Hazel Cheriton.

Family Cup - Wilber and Imogen Norman, Best Corn sample - R Ayre, Most points in hay/silage/roots/corn - R Lee and R Ayre, Most points in corn classes - Connor May.  Best entry in field root classes - M Denner-Smith, Most points in cake classes - S Fox, Children’s cup - Imogen Norman, School Challenge Cup - Thorverton School.

Other prize winners: Jen Mortimer, Millie Cheriton, Oscar Cheriton, Ruby Cheriton, Eliza Davie, Henry Davie, Hayley Davie, J Muncater, Connor May, AV and N Lee, M Norman, K Greet, L Turley, H Lee, L Tonkin, J Atkinson, L Davie, O Bulled, S Lewis, T Brinicombe and G Brinicombe.

Secretary Julie Davey commented: “I would like to thank everyone for coming, especially with the weather we had that day.

“Thank you to John and Sue May for hosting the event and all the help that they gave us, all the judges, stewards – Katie, Charlotte, Hayley, Helen the treasurer, Angie, Sarah and all their helpers for doing the lunches, Fern’s Catering and all the committee who braved the continuous rain.”